Laptop on a table with Chrome logo on the screen.monticello/Shutterstock.com

Google Chrome comes with a handy password manager already built-in. You can have your browser save and enter passwords for various sites when prompted to login. Here’s how to manage all your saved passwords in Chrome.

RELATED: Did You Know? You can drag and drop browser links to your desktop

Save a password in Chrome

The first step in managing your saved passwords is to make sure that password saving is turned on. This is done via the passwords menu.

To access it, click on your profile picture in the top right corner and then click on the small icon that looks like a wrench. You can also type chrome://settings/passwords into the Omnibox (the address bar) and press Enter.

Toggle the toggle labeled “Offer to save passwords” to the on position (it should be enabled by default).

Enable the Offer to save passwords option in Settings

Now go to a website where you need to login, fill in your credentials and sign up. After the form is submitted, Chrome will ask if you want to save your password. Click on “Save”. Clicking “Never” will add the site to a list of “Never Saved” passwords. We’ll show you how to remove a site from the “Never Saved” list below.

RELATED: How to Use Google Chrome to Generate Secure Passwords

Click Save to save your password in Chrome

Assuming you’ve saved the password, Chrome will automatically fill in the login form the next time you go to that site’s login page. If you have more than one username and password saved for a single site, click the field and choose which credentials to use.

Select a combination of username and password from the available list

Remove a site from the “Never Saved” list?

If you accidentally clicked “Never” when Chrome asks if you want to save your password to a site, here’s how to remove that site from the exceptions list. When you delete a site, you will be given the option to save your password the next time you log in.

Open the password menu by clicking your profile picture in the top right corner and clicking the small button. You can also type chrome://settings/passwords in the Omnibox and press Enter.

Scroll down until you see the “Never Saved” heading. This is a complete list of all the sites you’ve blacklisted in Chrome’s saved password list.

Never saved password samples.

Scroll through the sites until you find the item you accidentally sent to this list, then click the X to the right of the URL.

Click on the "X" next to the password you don't want to save.

The entry disappears and his life is saved from purgatory. Now when you sign in to that site again, Chrome will ask you if you want to save your password again.

Save password prompt.

View saved passwords

To see a list of all usernames and passwords stored in Chrome, open the password menu by clicking your profile picture in the top right corner and then clicking the small button again. You can also type chrome://settings/passwords in the Omnibox and press Enter.

On the new tab, scroll down to the “Saved Passwords” heading and you’ll find a list of all usernames and passwords stored in Chrome.

The entire list of all passwords stored in Chrome

Click the eye icon to view the plain text password.

If you lock your computer with a password, you must enter the password before you can view this password. If you set it up with a PIN, you’ll need to provide that.

Enter your PIN or password.

After successfully entering your computer’s credentials, the saved password will be visible in plain text.

Voila!  The password has been revealed

Export saved passwords

If for any reason you need to export the entire list of usernames and passwords, Chrome can do that too.

We don’t recommend exporting your passwords unless you know what you’re doing or really need to, because everything exported is stored in a CSV file, which is unencrypted, and when opened can be read as plain text.

RELATED: What Is a CSV File and How Do I Open It?

In Chrome’s Passwords menu, next to “Saved passwords,” click the settings menu, then click “Export passwords.”

Click on the three dots menu and then click on Export passwords

You will be asked to confirm the export of your passwords as this is a huge security risk as the file is fully human readable.

Click the Export Passwords button

Again, when you access sensitive information, you will be prompted to enter your computer’s PIN or password to confirm this action.

Enter your PIN or password.

Choose a safe place to save your file and click ‘Save’.

Keep your exported passwords in a safe place

Delete saved passwords

If you accidentally clicked “Save as password” but you don’t have that account anymore or you just don’t want your password saved anymore, you can delete them from Chrome just as quickly as you save them.

In the Settings menu for Passwords, click the settings icon (three dots) next to the password you want to remove, then click “Remove.”

The selected password will be deleted immediately. A pop-up will appear informing you of the change and if you accidentally delete it, you can click Undo to recover your password.

Your password has been removed.  Click Undo if you didn't want to delete it

To remove every item from your password list, you must first go to Chrome’s settings menu. Click the three dots in the top right corner, then choose “Settings.” You can also type chrome://settings/ in the Omnibox and press Enter.

Click on the three dots and then click on "Institutions."

In the Settings menu, click “Security & Privacy” on the right.

Click "Security and privacy."

Scroll down a bit further until you see “Clear browsing data” and click on it.

Click "Clear browsing data."

In the pop-up, click on the ‘Advanced’ tab, choose ‘Always’ from the ‘Time range’ menu, check ‘Passwords’ and finally click on ‘Clear data’. There is no going back from this, so make sure you want to delete them all before clicking any further.

Click on the advanced tab, always choose from the menu, check passwords as an option, then click Clear Data

Follow the prompts and all passwords you’ve ever saved in Google Chrome will be cleared from your browser. The next time you go to a site, you better hope you remember your password or have a password manager or else you’ll find yourself clicking “Forgot your password?” link when you go to login.

This post Manage saved passwords in Chrome

was original published at “https://www.howtogeek.com/406976/how-to-manage-saved-passwords-in-chrome/”

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here